Border Tails

By Swannie

Wide Angle Wednesday - MRFC

I left the house for work a bit early this afternoon, so instead of doing half an hour extra out of the goodness of my heart, I drove on past and down into Melrose. As I only had my iPhone, there was no point in trying to get a shot of the highland coos, so I headed further into the town. My first thought was the Abbey, but then I noticed the Greenyards.

The Greenyards is home to Melrose Rugby Club, my second favourite team after Earlston, and was founded in 1877. Back in 1883, it played host to the very first rugby sevens competition, a game devised by Ned Haig, a former player from the club. Work has begun this week to erect all the marquees and stands for this year. The population of the town will swell from two thousand to about fourteen thousand with the event televised on BBC Scotland as well.

The corner I was standing on will see the stand for the commentary team where they can look over the pitch toward the Eildons. I don’t think there is another club in the land with such a fantastic view.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.