Four kings

I believe four kings is a pretty good hand in poker. Almost 50 years ago we bought a chess set with every piece hand carved in rosewood. The kings are quite exquisite. On the one side is a replica of a king from the Lewis chess pieces, which we bought on a visit to the British Museum during the time we were in London for my overseas training (something which at that time was regarded as almost mandatory). The king on the other side is one that I carved from a piece of kauri which had split off a beam removed during renovations in the old villa. I was playing around with an old fisherman's knife I had (which was almost never used for fish), and the king began to appear. S bought me a simple wood carving set which I was able to use to complete the emergence of the fourth king.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.