Kit's Year

By Kit267

He Has Chosen The Name He Wants To Be Called

I arrived at the yard this evening to a lighthearted ‘intervention’...I was told that I couldn’t change Cecil/Seth’s name as it is very bad luck to change a horses name and even my farrier wasn’t happy that I was planning a name change!

Most horses have a passport name, a Sunday best name if you like and it normally relates to the breeding (and the dad’s name) and a stable name, one that your mates would use. So Johnny’s passport name is Johnny Indian as his father was called Comanche Run (a well known race horse, ridden by Lester Piggot), so a rather unPC name but not the worst I have heard of! Milo’s posh name is Jemoon Wolken Dream as he was bred at Jemoon Stud and his father is called Wolkenderry.

The new boy’s posh name is FWEC Cecil, I have not found what the FWEC relates to yet. I have subsequently found out that his stable name is China and we have also found that if he is at the opposite end of the field and you call him China, he will come to you....so it seems that he has chosen the name he wants to be called...so China it is..

It’s so lovely to see all the spring buds and to see the hawthorn starting to come into leaf...the hedgerows will soon be green again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.