Unto the hills

Another breathtaking morning. We had a rendezvous this morning with Brodie, my friend's young retriever and they all had a wonderful time romping together on the moor, even finding ice on a largish puddle which confused the lad somewhat. The views of the hills were exceptional now that the damp greyness has given way to the sharp clarity of frosty weather and here at last you can clearly see Ben Vorlich and, in the distance, Ben More. You can also see a tractor working its way across the harvested field, the farmer no doubt thrilled to be able to uplift his bales for storage without the tractor sinking into mud.

This afternoon I had a meeting in Falkirk and on my way home decided to make a slight detour into a major garden store for a much needed cuppa and general look around. When I returned, the temperature had plummeted to 2' and I was in the midst of a sleet storm! As I made my way home I could see the most amazing sky in the wing mirror as the weather front with the dark, pinky snow clouds met the blue sky in the distance.....and I couldn't stop! Then to make matters even worse, as I was on the final stretch of the motorway, with no parking place in view, I caught sight of an astonishing gold edging to the clouds as the sun made a final bid for glory! It occurred to me that the car driver behind me might have understood why I kept looking sideways and might have crept back from being right on my tail if I had been able to display a large sign saying BLIPPER ON BOARD.

By the time I got home it was down to 1' and the hills in this shot from the morning were covered in a fair dusting of the white stuff.

Thank you so much on behalf of my two chums and myself. Yesterday your stars, hearts and comments put us on the Spotlight page which is quite a rare occurrence for us. We are thrilled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.