A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

The Garden

Getting a public garden ready for a new season is hard work. If that garden is your own (albeit a rather large one) it could be daunting. Today I visited The World Garden at Lullingstone Castle to see how things are going for their opening on Saturday.

I found Tom Hart Dyke, the owner, using a spade and wheelbarrow to move 4 tonne bags of gravel to smarten up the drive. He moved and levelled it all within 1 & 1/2hrs!

Elsewhere Steve, a new member of my photographic club, was busy cutting the vast lawns.

In The Cloud Garden Andrea, a volunteer, was watering. She was sporting one of the new orange corporate polo shirts the workers and volunteers will be wearing this season. As she made her way around the plants I thought this multi shot would do justice to the hard work they all have put in to making the garden ready.

In other news Tom gave me his copy of the Royal Horticultural Society member's magazine, The Garden. The World Garden has become a partner garden this year and they had a mention inside. The bonus is that one of my photos was used for it. I've added a copy in extras. With around 450,000 members all getting the magazine this must be the greatest circulation of one of my images to date. 

Again I have added some other shots to my Flickr album for the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.