Return to the North

By Viking

The old and the new

Sis and I headed to Lincoln for the day today. I had seen a news article about Lincoln university setting up a new medical school and to accompany the article (on TV rather than paper) was a shot of Brayford Pool in Lincoln (where the University is mainly situated) The shot brought back so many memories. I went to teacher training college in Lincoln (LOOOOONNGGGGGG before the city had a university) and as students we used to head down to Sainsburys, which was situated on the 'pool' to do our weekly shop. It is of course unrecognisable now but I had a yearning to see that end of Lincoln. 
I have been back to Lincoln many times since I left 30 years ago but rarely to the 'bottom end' of the city. So we did a quick coffee stop at 'The Grot' (my old college), where incidentally I met up with a guy who I trained with 30+ years ago. Sis picked up a prospectus for a Masters she is interested in then it was down to Brayford for a wander down memory lane. 
A walk that involved lunch in a very nice Italian restaurant and coffee in another cafe :-) 
I had other more artistic shots of reflections etc but I liked the contrast in this one. The 1000 year old Cathedral and the new university. Life marches on, changes happen, we change and yet we don't. Meeting up with A was just great, a real treat after so many years. So many lifetimes, so many changes and yet the common ground / experiences we've had in the intervening years brings us to a shared moment in time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.