Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

An Old Rose

The roses at the Rose garden are looking quite worn now although they  were smelling beautiful in the mid morning sunshine.  I wandered through until I spotted this one which I suspect is a very old fashioned rose. It was one without a name plate so I have no idea what it is called but I thought it was very attractive in it's simplicity. It wasn't until I got it on the computer screen that I saw the tiny green spider. beside the stamens.

As I was leaving, a young Japanese man was standing in the entrance photographing a sweetheart rose. His eyes dropped to my camera and he pointed to it and then to his camera and said 'same'.  They were exactly the same.  He had little English and I had no Japanese but we took turns at admiring each others photos on the wee screens. No words were needed - sounds of appreciation and smiles plus our photographs were sufficient to communicate our shared enjoyment of photography and of the Rose Garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.