not go in river

This place is still fairly fresh in my memory after a booster visit in
2007 on top of a couple of visits as a youngster. It combines
large-building-impressiveness with ruination and clamberability and is
probably some of the reason why castles seem less impressive now than
they did when I was small and possibly conflating memories of actual
castles with merely castle-like large stone buildings like abbeys. I
have zero memory of the accompanying water gardens at the other end of
the enclosure which I was presumably dragged along as a child (if they
existed in an exhibitable state at the time) though they were perhaps
dismissed from memory as the boring thing I had to walk around when what
I probably really wanted to do was investigate the north bank of the valley for caves. I though I might have remembered the wee tunnel on the return leg, or perhaps the bandstandish temple-thing, which might hang on in the wingpiglet's head as the place from which we watched the lightning flashing and listened to the thunder rumbling on our way back from the Studley Royal NT caf? through a fairly heavy rainstorm (briefly popping into hailstorm territory) which at least proved that the new rainsuit we got from eBay a couple of weeks back was a good buy. I got soaked to the skin even under the area against which Edgar was being carried but had taken the precaution of sticking my phone in my waterproof camera bag before it got too late. Nicky got a bit soggy but was at least wearing reasonably sturdy shoes. I haven't had to replace my walking-feet for almost two years but the leaks through the toe-ends in some of the deeper puddles suggests I might have to this winter if re-proofing has no effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.