FieryStuff

By FieryStuff

Buzzard Breakfast - close up

As I said to Martin recently in response to his brilliant Blip featuring a buzzard close to his home, I often see buzzards around here but haven't yet been able to get a good shot of any of them.

That was addressed in spades this morning when one landed in the paddock a mere 20 metres from my house. 2 adult crows were in hot pursuit and began to dive bomb Buzz who sat impassively on the ground. I couldn't believe my luck and grabbed the camera.

The reason for the crows' attention soon became obvious; Buzz had brought breakfast along and began to devour it. The crows' efforts were in vain and they ended up with no spoils.
Buzz retired to the branch of a nearby tree after eating and flew off soon after.

A full sequence of the events related above can be found here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.