Sandblasted Sunset

As Mrs B and I had been working hard at the local community business today, I decided to take her out to dinner at the Putechan Hotel on the West Coast of Kintyre. As previously, I had something of an ulterior motive in maybe catching the sunset!

Anyway, after getting some bits and pieces in Campbeltown, we headed over to Westport Beach, which just has to be one of the best beaches in Scotland. Three miles of golden sand exposed to all that the Atlantic Ocean can throw at it. The skies were partly cloudy and there was a brisk northerly wind keeping the temperature just a few degrees above freezing. I was well wrapped out when I headed down to the beach as the sun was starting to disappear into thickening clouds. As it partly disappeared behind a cloud it cast beams of sunlight onto the sea near the horizon - best seen in LARGE. The colours may not have been rich, but the sky/sea combination still looked quite dramatic.

When the sun came out full again I turned my attention to the beach where the sand was being whipped up by the freezing wind and blown southwards towards a walker coming towards me. As the walker came closer I could see he was totally wrapped up with only a small opening in his jacket hood for him to look out of. As I turned into the wind I could see why he was so well wrapped up as I was being sandblasted by all the sand blown along the beach.

When reviewing the shots I was tempted to go with the wind blown sand, but decided to stick with what I like best - a shot of the sun near the horizon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.