cate1

By cate1

Pick me soon ..

Taking so many shots of the garden just emphasised to me how much work needs done out there.  One of the problems of living where we do is that we have a very short Autumn.  I keep thinking the plants will last another few weeks then it starts to rain - usually for days and then it's too cold to go out into the garden to tidy up and before you know it Winter has arrived and nothing has been done.  One reason I like the snow is that it covers up the mess.  
It was a little bit chilly today, but I wrapped up warm and decided I would begin to tidy some of the garden. Seeing the rhubarb patch as it is reminded me that I always forget to see how well it's doing and don't lift the rhubarb early enough.  So I must make a written note to check on it fairly soon.  It is situated behind the raised rockery so not visible from the lounge window.  It is much easier to deal with a small crop rather than wait until everything needs lifting. The burst of energy lasted only about 45 mins.  I didn't want to do too much bending before I see the spinal surgeon in a few weeks and get a clearer picture of what I can and cannot do to prevent damage after my surgery.    
The rhubarb was brought from J's aunt's house in Kintore,  north of Aberdeen about 30 years ago so it has survived the neglect well.  It also reminds us of J's mum and Aunt Nellie as they died many years ago.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.