Bompa

By Bompa

Pizza fritta

Ecco pizza fritta con pomodoro e tonno e formaggio grana padano. Tutti a tavola a mangari! Well, that's straining the limits of my Italian but I think I said that here is fried pizza with tomatoes, tuna and grana padano cheese. Everyone to the table to eat!

The recipe did not call for tuna but I figured if I was going to have fried food I had better have something healthy to go with it. I have made bannock and "dough gods" (from bread dough) several times but this is the first time I have used pizza dough. I make all three with sourdough starter. The pizza dough contained about one-third whole wheat flour. The recipe for pizza fritta is very simple and adaptable. Just put some crushed tomatoes in a pan with olive oil and fresh garlic and cook for a while, adding salt and basil. Place some of this mixture on a piece of fried pizza dough and add a bit of tuna and some grated cheese. It is yummy. Make lots like I did and there will be leftover fried pizza to eat with jam, honey, peanut butter or whatever you like. The tomato sauce can be used for anything that requires tomatoes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.