Fire, Snow, Ice,

We were out on the lake again today. It is so lovely to be able to walk on the snow scooter tracks without falling through, even though the snow is still 1 metre deep.
Even after 30+ winters in this part of the world I am still slightly fascinated by the fact I can safely walk where I'll be swimming or paddling my kayak in four months time!  In this picture I am actually standing on land but I'm about to walk down the slope, across the lake, and up the hill on the far side.
Earlier, we'd found a fire burning on the ice, right at the edge of the lake (extra).
Whoever had made the fire had also carved out a snow bench so we had somewhere to sit and drink our coffee, with the sun shining fully upon our face (see HarlingDarling's blip).
Our unknown fire makers had left a fair bit of rubbish around their fire so we hooked it out of the water and managed to burn it all before we headed home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.