OMP

By OMP

Another lucky find!

These are a Tundra Swans (native to North America and the smallest of the three swans found here).  I haven't ever seen one of these swans, let alone photographed one.  It's been fun seeing some new birds this week!

I arrived at one of my favorite parks and set about layering on more cold-weather gear, setting up my tripod/camara and scoping out the area.  Before I even had my camera out of the bag, I heard the distinctive flapping of a swan taking off.  Seeing four of them heading my way, I ditched the tripod and ran for the shore.  Got em! :)  

I knew they looked different (more graceful in flight vs. a mute swan) but wasn't sure until I saw them on my computer later.  

A funny flight shot in extras... Bufflehead ducks fleeing the area after spotting me. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.