Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Pink flower spider

Pink flower spider

Diaea variabilis or could be thomisus onustus or thomisus citrinellus difficult to nail down. It is also known as the flower spider or crab spider.

I promised you a pink spider towards the beginning of the month, research told me that there was such a beast so every day I have been scanning the flower heads and finally found one. Unfortunately I could not get close, as the flower was hanging over a twenty foot drop down to the stream, but with some major cropping, I was left with just enough to blip.

This is very similar to the white spider that I blipped on the 21st September, obviously closely related, but apparently there are a lot of sub-species to these arachnids.

I am very excited to be able to blip a pink spider for breast cancer awareness month, when I said I would blip a pink spider, at the time I did not think it would be possible, more of a joke really. I hope you like her.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.