Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Meyer Lemon Rebellion

I had signed up for a workshop called “Interrupting Hate in Public Spaces” today, but I couldn’t make myself go. Instead I took the day off to do some writing, thinking, and walking on a rare sunshiny day. Recent news stories have given me nightmares, and I am furious about the influence of Cambridge Analytica, Robert Mercer, and Facebook on the Brexit and Trump elections. Some of our local leaders are asking that we #DeleteFacebook. After pondering it and writing (which has always been how I learn what I think), I decided not to delete it but to change the way I use it. Posted a proclamation of sorts and went on with my life.

Then I rewarded myself with a long walk down my old One Street and up into the west hills among blossoming cherry trees, Japanese magnolias, and unfurling chartreuse willow leaves. I shot several city-scapes from the hillside, but I was most charmed by this mother and daughter I saw when I came back down to my neighborhood. They were studying the flavors of ice cream at Salt & Straw. 

Mom: I can’t decide between the Meyer Lemon Meringue Pie and the Chocolate Caramel Potato Chip Cupcake.

Daughter: Is either one of them Vegan?

Mom: (moaning sadly) Noooooo....

Daughter: Then let’s not do that to our bodies, Mom.

They walked resolutely onward, the mom looking back longingly a couple of times.

I had the lemon, with alternating ribbons of marshmallow and lemon curd. It was divine. I was perfectly comfortable doing that to my body.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.