Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

The tables are turning

now it feels like home
music flowing in the air
old and new alike

It never fails: the first time I wire our turntable, I get it wrong and the song is eerie, echo-y. Then I remember that it is pre-amplified and should not go through the "phono" channel as you'd expect, but the "auxiliary" one. Unless it's the reverse and it is because it is not pre-amplified, I can't remember which it is. Anyhow, I rewired it correctly and I could put vinyls on. CDs, too, but that reader is more straightforward. :-)

I now feel like we have settled. Strange how small elements like this play (haha) an important role in how you feel in your surroundings. It is all the more strange than we hadn't been using our stereo system for a while back in Paris. It must mean that I feel better here.

I'm writing this on Tuesday morning and our bank cards are now active. :-) I'll soon make an appointment to transfer our accounts to the local branch of the bank. This is also strange: we've lived very well in the past 14 years with our bank 300 km away, but now that we can have a very close branch, I'd like to transfer the accounts. It probably has to do with the fact that I'm also going to open a professional account and I don't want this to be in a branch 150 km away...

Extra. MyOneTree. Again. :-D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.