Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Like a Salmon

You know how it is with a favourite set of underwear – you know perfectly well that they are on their last legs but still you continue to wear them until that day when you stand up and they remain on the floor round your ankles.

Well that was the condition I found our marriage in quite recently. Since then, the majority of my blips have been my long goodbye to the home, the village, the island and the life that I adore. It breaks my heart to be leaving the home and life we have built together from nothing, but it has to be done. Throughout the course of our lives we may be lucky enough to have a sequence of happy homes, but we can have only one life.

This morning I got up, fed the cats, bade them farewell, drove to the port, caught a ferry, then a bus, then another bus, then a plane and finally a lift in a private van which has brought me right back to where I started, in the house where I was born.

So far, the first half of my life was all about love and the second half was all about excitement. I hope that I am now entering the final third and that it will be awesome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.