Above my desk - 3

This is a favourite print.   "The Calling of Saints Peter and Andrew".    Caravaggio painted this in 1602.

A beardless Jesus gestures Peter and his brother Andrew to follow him: "Come ye after me, and I will make you to become fishers of men".
According to the gospel Peter and Andrew were out fishing on the lake when they were called. Caravaggio gives his own interpretation. Because of his prominence, the man on the left is thought to be Peter.

It was only in 2006 that this painting (in the Royal Collection - one of Charles I's many acquisitions -) was authenticated as an original Caravaggio.

I've made no attempts to deal with reflections, etc, because this is about the view from my desk, and this is how I see it.

Extra:    The view from my desk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.