Journal of Jackie

By Jackie18

It was all going so well!

We got up this morning in the hotel and went for an early morning swim, followed by a monster breakfast.
Then we headed off to Parsley Hay cycle hire where Rafi was spending day 2 of his work placement.
Jim suggested me and Rafi try out the tandem tricycle and head off down to Hartington and back. It was drizzling a little, but we're not made of sugar, so off we went. It was a lovely ride, but the rain was getting heavier. We were just heading back when we heard a massive bang, the back tyre had punctured! We had to call Jim who drove to Hartington and changed the wheel.
Off we go again in the rain, I'm not sure what happened next, but I will just say that tricycles are not the easiest things to steer. The bike veered to the left, I tried to correct it, but too late we were heading down a steep bank towards a stone wall! It all seemed like it was it slow motion...Rafi fell off, but was fine, and apart from a few scratches so was I, phew. I hauled the massive trike back onto the trail, relieved we had survived, only to find the front forks were bent and I couldn't straighten the front wheel. We could not ride the bike back so Rafi had to walk holding onto the bike and I had to pull the bike along holding the front wheel ( the bike was VERY heavy).
After about a mile a lovely young couple came to our rescue and helped us back to the cycle hire. I felt like such an idiot, and so bad that I had made them more work.
We were both soaking wet, Rafi managed to stay for a while longer, but the walk had taken it out of him and he left earlier than he might have. This was a day we won't forget in a hurry! Tomorrow he is at a visitor centre inside. I shall drop him off and stay out of the way in case I cause another disaster!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.