Escadaria Selarón

I woke up at dawn and watched the day breaking.
We do not have real sunrise view, but it was still beautiful.

I went back to bed and we finally got up around 10 am.

I checked my emails and decided to track my driving licence that should have already arrived in Germany.
Once I tracked it, I realised it had been misrouted to Sweden!!!! What the hell???
I got very upset and tried to phone Royal Mail AND Swedish Post in order to try to locate the letter, but could not get through.
In the end I phoned Dougie to chase them in UK and my Swedish boss to chase them in Sweden!
Both came back with the news, that the letter was now in Germany …… Phew! Definitely a relief.

We faffed a bit in the flat and on the terrace before we decided to take the bus down to Lapa, visit the Escadaria Selarón and do some shopping.
Since we have moved to the woods, my natural Mosquito diversion (Neil!!!) seems to not be working anymore. I got bitten quite badly and they are itchy! I also wanted to get some repellent in the shops.

The steps were impressive!!! I enjoyed this artwork a lot!! I think you need weeks and months to take it all in - and probably speak Portuguese to read everything he added.
The tiles were collected from all over the world. Really wonderful and colourful!
Jorge Selarón was found dead on his steps in 2013 - otherwise he would be still building and changing them. It was his life's work and he spent 25 years here!

We walked all the way up and down again, before we walked some dodgy side streets from Lapa.
I got a big pot of Acai, which was delicious and refreshing. 

We then walked across along the viaduct and had a look at the Bonde Station.
The Bonde is the old tram that was connecting Centro and Lapa with Santa Teresa on the hills. It was featured in my yesterday blip.

It was closed for a few years after a very bad accident. But now one line is operation again and we wanted to ride it at least once.

It was just after 5 pm and we realised that the last Bonde was leaving at 5:30. So we bought tickets and jumped on.
As we started our journey we realised that we had totally forgotten to do our shopping!

So we grabbed a quick coffee at Santa Teresa (Café do Alto, our usual) and jumped back on last Bonde down 10 minutes later.

We walked to the Supermarket and queued 3 quarters of an hour for our 5 items!!! The waiting times in Supermarkets are ridiculous!! Everything goes so slow, it's unbelievable.
I stopped the time how long it takes until the till opens to give change!!! It was almost 3 minutes!!! Each time.  It is unbelievable!!

We ordered an Uber once we got out and walked back into Cafe do Alto for dinner.
I had a Moqueca and Neil had again carne Assada, cheese and Manioc.
It was tasty!

We took a Taxi back home and went to bed early.

My Blips are featuring Escadaria Selarón. They are so beautiful!! And there is so much to see and find!! Look at the pictures!
Second and third extra shows a guy who was photographing each tile for a website! Crazy!
Fourth extra Neil sitting with his Kilt at the Scottish section.
Fifth: Selarón is still watching over it!

Dear fellow Blippers - I am behind ... majorly .... but will continue to post chronologically ... one day I will have caught up ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.