ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Hazy.

M was still sleeping this morning while I slipped out to take some photos of the morning mist. As I set off, the sky behind the mist was a beautiful pinky colour, but unfortunately by the time I'd walked to the waterfront (only 5 minutes), it had gone. I took a few shots that I liked, but I think this - my last shot - was my favourite.

When I got back to our room, M was awake and we had a shower and went downstairs for a lovely breakfast - smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for me and a full Scottish for M. The mist had all but burned away, leaving a cold but clear day, so we decided to play a game of golf at the nearby course. The course was absolutely stunning in the light, with the last wisps of mist clinging to the hills that soared up around us on all sides. M and I both played well until the last hole, where I ended up in a magnetic bunker which just would not let my ball go!

When we got back to the hotel, we had a quick shower and then walked down to the town centre to The Lock Inn for a venison burger and a pint of beer - well deserved after our golf! We sat outside with our drink and watched the boats chugging up and down the staircase of locks directly outside the pub, and all the tourists taking photos of the water and swans.

I should never really be allowed to drink at lunch, because after a quick walk we headed back to the hotel and I fell asleep on our huuuuuge bed for two hours! When I woke up, I felt fairly hungover and rubbish, but M convinced me to head back downstairs to the drawing room for a soft drink, a seat by the fire and a few games of chess and cards. Sure enough, I started to feel much better, and we managed a small dinner later on. The food at The Lovat is really incredible; unusual flavours and unique combinations - it really feels like a treat. Tonight I had a caramelised onion risotto garnished with lightly battered bay leaves. It was really lovely, I must steal that idea for the next time I'm cooking for vegetarians!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.