Wishful Thinking

Dear Diary,

I am still reeling from the news of Rochelle's death.  It all seems unreal to me.  For some reason, I was drawn to this collection of feathers and wishbones this morning.  Mostly wild turkey feathers, I cannot pass one by when I see them in the yard or on woodland walks.  The leaf is one I picked up during my last visit with Dotty, just a few days before she died.  I can't let go of it.  The wishbones wait for someone to come by so we can "pull a wish"; I just haven't gotten around to it.

We are, I suspect, defined by things we collect, things we hold onto when common sense says "throw them away".  I am very much the sort of a person that ascribes meaning to the most ordinary objects.  I have a window sill full of "found objects", like these feathers, leaves and wishbones.  Maybe it is time to clean house but maybe that is just wishful thinking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.