South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Marzipan

I wish you could smell the heather in the foreground - it has a wonderful almond marzipan scent when the sun is out. And the sun was out all day - for the first time in absolutely ages. I didn’t go out in it much as I had planned a day of sorting a large drawer in the bureau which was full of photos and random things. I found my son’s school reports and his school photos (which are now all put together in one bag) and also lots of photos of our garden, mixed in amongst other photos. I decided to make a small memento album of the garden as I’ve really enjoyed it during our time here. It was an absolute mess when we moved in - the chap who had lived here previously had left old window frames with broken glass, an old fish tank, dead sprout plants and general detritus in the garden. We dismantled an ancient greenhouse, demolished an old concrete and rusty metal coal bunker and replaced an ancient shed with a mouse nest in it. We had lawns put down and my husband put in little paths running through the flower beds and over the rockery - which our son used to enjoy when he was young. So we really did re-model it. It will be sad to leave but I will NOT miss the awful wild onion plants that make a takeover bid every Spring!!

I have put in an extra photo of my old Samsung 150 camera which set me on the road to blipping. It’s sensor broke when I dropped it, but I’d kept it in the drawer in the bureau which I sorted today. I got rid of three cameras that I found in there including one of the first Kodak digital cameras, which was such a liberation after film. A very ugly camera though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.