One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Nativity with touching naivety

Had a quick snoop around Buckley's auction house in Glasthule during my lunch break. 
There was quite a few "homemade" paintings scattered here and there. The bric-a-brac brigade usually buy them in bulk for a couple of euros, throw out the art work and keep the frame. 
What a sad ending. 
I quite liked this middle-aged looking baby Jesus with the nasty dose of scoliosis. 
I would have liked to rescue it.
Someone put time and faith and patience and application in painting it. Framed it. Hung it. 
I don't think that it should be of less value than some of the contrived, over-theorised, conceptual shite that I often see in galleries. Not less worthy of preservation. 
I feel bad now for having abandoned it to its fate, to rush back to the Mistake Factory, of all places. Devoid of naivety as it is. Sleek in greed and not exactly overburdened by morals. 
I should have started a Collection of Rescued Naive Art today. I bet that Mrs Raheny would have been thrilled. 
This photograph of the Baby Jesus with Impossible Spine is possibly all that is left of it now. 
Let's call it a semi-rescue. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.