Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Birthday girl

I've mentioned Susan, my wonderful next-door neighbour, here before. She's been very unwell for a long time, has been in and out of hospital repeatedly, often as a result of falls (one of which left her lying on the floor for six hours before being found). After her most recent hospitalisation she was forced to face the fact that she's unable to cope alone at home, so she's been resident in a care home for the past eighteen months or so.

I visit her as often as I can (though not as much as I'd like to or feel I should). Today was special, though, since it's her birthday. Her 84th! I contacted her daughter and we agreed to visit together this morning. I brought flowers and a card and the daughter brought a cake. We met her daughter there and we four had ourselves a little party.

The blip shows the grandmother/grand-daughter birthday hug.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.