It's Grim Up North

By lynnfot

Bear with me while I get to the point

We have recently replaced both of our sofas. This is the new 'day' sofa. "Why is she telling us this?" you wonder.
Because today Bulky Matters (local charity that removes large household items in the Lancaster area) came to take away the last of the old sofas, which had done a sterling 30 years service. (Imagine being old enough to own a sofa for 30 years.......)
One of the men stared wistfully at a photo of a rotting boat that is hanging on our sitting room wall and said 'I used to take photos like that, of peeling paint and old boats.'
'You don't any more?' I asked.
'I've got a camera but I don't have a printer or access to Photoshop or anything any more' he said in a flat, depressed voice.
Since they left I can't get him out if my mind. Here is someone who has fallen on hard times, is volunteering for a charity, and can't pursue a hobby that he used to love. If I'd had a spare laptop in the house I would have given it to him there and then and put the software in it for him.
Are there any UK charities that help with computing facilities for people who can't afford new equipment?
Easy access to computing should be a basic human right. And I don't mean a few computers in the library.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.