earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Korby Lenker

It's great to have a mate whose musical tastes are so aligned to your own. Thanks again R.

Korby Lenker is a modern troubadour. He spends a great deal of time on the road - averaging over 100 gigs for each of the last five years - and that experience informs his stories and songwriting. Indeed, he is such a great storyteller that his song introductions almost overshadow the songs themselves. But not quite. I love to hear the context behind a song, especially, like on this occasion, when they're all new to me. It breathes life into the music to understand where it's come from.

It got me thinking about what I love most about going to a live gig and I realise that it's exactly what I got tonight. It's authenticity. A performer opening up their soul and connecting with the audience, honestly, without pretension. Korby clearly enjoyed himself in the process of entertaining us tonight and that kind of joy is infectious. And enriching. He said he had no set list. He went where the emotion took him. It made for a wonderful evening. 

It was a lovely surprise to find that Korby has had published a book of his short stories: Medium Hero. I had to buy a copy of that, of course, as well as a copy of his new album: Thousand Springs - which I'm loving. I'll let you know if his book is just as good.

He said that it was impossible to feel depressed with a ukelele in your hand and finished with what I suspect is his signature sign-off tune. Here is a wonderful video of My Little Life. I think you'll find it impossible not to smile while watching this.

Korby has a whole range of styles. If you're curious, try the beautiful Northern Lights, sample the amazing guitar work, with Molly Tuttle, on Friend and a Friend, and the quirky Booknerd, all on his new album. 

Must finally give a shout to the wonderful Live Room venue in Saltaire. It's the perfect intimate space in which to hear folk and roots music, run by some fantastically enthusiastic people and attracting great performers. Katie Spencer, in support tonight, was also amazing. I see a little-known support act here and can easily imagine them headlining in a few years time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.