Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Succulent

After another largely housebound day I managed to squeeze in a late evening walk on the moor after dropping the kids back at their Mum's.

The light was fading on what was already a gloomy day but I thought I'd go and see if there was any Barn Owl activity in their usual spot - I haven't been to look since last year. I scanned their patch for a bit, gave up, then turned back to be greeted by one of them swooping up behind me. I watched for a while but it made a beeline over the moor and over the skyline to some other hunting grounds. Elsewhere there were plenty of Pheasant and Red Grouse bedding down for the night.

I was walking past a wall where I'd previously seen Biting Stonecrop so I went over to see if I could find it in the gloom. I'm not sure if this is it, it not being flowering season, but it's a succulent of some sort. I did take a couple of pictures with flash but in the end I prefer the atmospheric low light, which is truer to the conditions.

Earlier, 10yo found a nice skeleton leaf (extra) when we were playing football.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.