RW's Daily Exposures

By rwsphotography

Trail in a Tangled Wood

I walk this trail frequently. It's quite peaceful as it meanders through the woods along side a natural stream. The preserve where my office is located provides an island riparian habitat the exists amongst the high-tech industry and homes of Cupertino California (home to Apple headquarters). I enjoy this part of the trail because I can imagine myself anywhere in the woods. No sounds of cars or busy streets, just the stream and these tangled trees.

I did the same where I grew up north of Seattle Washington. Me and maybe a friend would walk through what then seemed like endless forests. We'd see salmon spawning in the streams, badgers dens, many different critters and it provided a way to grow up with nature as my life's foundation. Unfortunately, those woods are mostly gone - Google Earth presented me a vision of these childhood memories with condos, townhomes, giant houses and shopping malls. I feel fortunate that we have this preserve to help keep me grounded. Thank you Mr. & Mrs McClellan for forward thinking and giving this small area a designation of permanent nature preserve for those who can enjoy after your gone. 

Cheers to their legacy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.