TonyMunch

By TonyMunch

People Still Continue To Surprise Me With Their Aw

So I went to Amsterdam to participate in Walk-In Saturdays at Salon Serpent Tattoo Studio. The idea was to get a small design off tattooist Angelique Houtcamp. I'm a big fan of her work, however I'm also a big fan of all the tattoo artists that work here, and could have quite happily been tattooed by anyone.

However, I popped down the day before to check the designs, and found that their latest addition to the team, Guen Douglas, was now also participating in the walk-ins. I'm a massive fan of Guens work, but never thought I'd ever get a chance to get tattooed by her (she wasn't scheduled to work this weekend).

She was ridiculously friendly and helpful, and I got to look over all the designs available for the following days. However, one of Guens was screaming at me, and I suddenly realised I wasn't gonna get tattooed by who I was expecting to get tattooed by.

When you get tattooed a lot like me, you do find that you get into a routine with who tattoos you and how you go about getting the design sorted. This was a massive shake up, and I'm so happy with the outcome. I've also met another new artist that I will be getting more work off. She's a talented lady, and a fun person to hang out with.

Thanks for my new tattoo Guen. It's ace.

Oh, and here's a shot of the shop, before it opened....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.