Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

New "lens"

store-bought pinhole lens
more precision but less charm
i like mine better

The Helga pinhole lens I purchased a year ago works perfectly, no doubt about it, but I don't especially like the photos I make with it, or rather, the precision of the photos it yields. Truth be told, I prefer the more blurry ones the homemade one I used for the past week makes. Not that this selfportrait taken at dusk in front of the window is very sharp, mind you, but still...

Anyway. A good day again; I washed the car, which I hadn't done in a while (too long to admit it outright!). Of course its whiteness only lasted a few minutes, and it is now once again smudged with wet dirt and soil. This is the countryside, after all, and it has been raining nearly without respite for a few months! ;-)

Dinner at the crêperie, which we hadn't yet found time to do since we arrived. Delightful as always. Simple things this time: as an apéritif, cider and blackberry liqueur with an assortment of potato-based pancakes (topped with vegetables, cheese, smoked salmon etc.). Then bacon, egg and cheese buckwheat crêpe for me, ham and cheese for Julie. For dessert, wheat flour crêpe with butter and sugar, which we shared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.