misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Viburnum leaves

This small bush has gone through all kinds of trials and travails to reach 3 feet (@ 1 meter) in 5 years. When I bought this property 4 1/2 years ago, it probably had been a flourishing large shrub. It produced one very fragrant "snowball" flower while being consumed by japanese beetles. By the time I took care of them no leaves were left and it had to be trimmed to a two ft. or half meter blob.
That winter saw the largest traveling herd of deer residents had seen. Every evening @ 15 deer roamed through all the yards coming down the forested hill. Poor dear viburnum was nibbled even further to the ground when the hungry rabbits trimmed her closer to the ground where grass and weeds chocked her even more. I was so occupied with repairing and renovating the house and larger landscape work that I admit I just could not take care of her..
Last winter I got rid of most of the deer (I found the man who was feeding them and spoke "directly" to him about the illegality of deer feeding in the village.) I built a wire cage for her and planted a lovely Karl Forester ornamental grass on one side to protect her. Although an occasional deer will come through and nip her growing tips, she has started to thrive... producing about 10 flowers this spring and these beautiful wine-red leaves this week.
Glad to share them with you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.