TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~Violet Silverleaf~

~The Thundercloud Sage~

A pretty little plant in my yard that produces beautiful lavender and violet flowers. These tiny flowers are no larger than my thumbnail, but when the sage blooms the fragrance is almost overwhelming. Honey bees, bumble bees, wasps and butterflies literally attack this bush, gathering its pollen and nectar. Both the silvery leaves and the diminutive flowers are covered with almost microscopic silver-gray hairs. I'm guessing these small hairs aid in the pollination process, maybe reclaiming the fine pollen particles from bees and other insects after they have visited other sages in the area. In any event, I look forward to seeing tiny black dots appear on the stems of this plant, for these dark spots soon turn into a profusion of lovely purple flowers, and fill my yard with a stinky sweet perfume.

Thanks for coming into my yard, TucsonJim ;o)


A Bigger Little Flower

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.