Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Greester

Family members in UK had been unable to get together last weekend to perform their traditional rituals on the date of Western Easter. As it happens this particular household has been known to postpone it as far as September when it is known as Wester. But this year it was delayed by only a week and so it coincided with Eastern Orthodox celebrations and we called it Greester.

There was a hunt for chocolate eggs in the garden and later there was a board game in the sitting room. I have never participated in a hunt for chocolate eggs before and that was tremendous fun. It has been years since I played a board game and those seem to have gone through a wonderful transformation. 

We played “The Settlers of Catan” which I found fascinating. Down on my luck and unable to develop my settlements in a wholesome and nurturing way, I discovered that the only way to survive was by means of robbery and violence. I wasn't awfully popular and I lost hands down. 

It's lovely to think of generations of people growing up with this instead of Monopoly and Risk.

By the time I remembered to get my camera out this was all that remained of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.