Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Mono Monday: 'Every Picture Tells a Story'

It was the 9th October 2016. Hurricane Matthew had been making its way north along the Atlantic coast of the USA, and the tail end of the storm was expected in New England. We'd arrived in Yarmouth on Cape Cod the previous day and had a nice walk out over the marshes, but the weather was closing in. We drove to Chatham but couldn't see anything much as the rain was so torrential, so we drove back to our Inn at Yarmouth and instead visited the nearby Edward Gorey House Museum, located in the house where he lived. After going inside I realised I'd left the car headlights on, so went out to switch them off and in the process tore my jacket on a piece of metal sticking out from an old pick-up truck parked next to me. The jacket was less than a week old. The museum was fascinating, and we bought this copy of one of his cartoons; interesting, as it is printed on two pieces of acetate giving a 3D effect.

That evening the weather was dreadful; driving rain and incredible winds. W wouldn't go out but I was getting a bit 'cabin feverish' so I walked the half mile or so down to the local tavern for a few drinks and something to eat. I was soaked on the outside but my jacket (not the torn one) was waterproof and I ended up having a great evening.

By the next day the storm had passed, but it was quite an experience. This picture constantly reminds me of the story of those few days.

And the new jacket? I got it repaired when I got home and they did a great job; you'd never know it had been torn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.