A Brew

Despite the fact that dad lived in the Midlands for most of his adult life he never lost his northern roots, or his Lancashire accent!
Like many people of his generation he considered that a nice cup of tea would set the world to rights.
Without fail; the first thing he’d utter when coming to visit was, “Get the kettle on, love”! 
It was so predicable that it almost sent me mad - I only wish I could hear those words one last time! :(
I remember way back in the early 70’s he acquired a teasmade - the height of luxury and a symbol that you’d reached the top of the social ladder!  ;)
A year has now passed since dad was buried and I headed over to Greenhaven to share a brew with him. 
Very generously, I let him and the newly planted tree have most of it! 
After our tea, I came away with the empty flask and a ton of mud caked to my boots!
Cheers dad! 
:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.