The light

This lighthouse sits at the end of the arm of Folkestone harbour. For a long time Folkestone harbour was serviced by trains which ran from London through Tonbridge and down a viaduct over the harbour which dropped more than 30 metres in just over a kilometre. The track ran along this arm to allow for a flat stretch on which the trains could come to a stop. During both world wars men and materiel would have embarked from this pier for conflicts on the European mainland.

I was there for far more prosaic reasons - Rowan needed a lift from Hythe so we came home the long way; through Folkestone and then down to Samphire Hoe for a coffee and blow. My phone decided that we were in France which is as exotic as I can cope with just now.

Bit of a snoozle now and out for a meal with my children later - that'll be fun and I'm looking forward to it. I hope your Sunday is working well too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.