today is the first day...

By firstday

Wedding survival kit

My beautiful new husband remembers telling people at our wedding that I felt lucky to have time to organise everything because I had two weeks off. My mastectomy recovery time. Nuts huh. That's what happens when you are born with blood type b+. There is always a bright side!!

Brides normally disappear into the sunset too, this one clinging on to her fragile mental health waits until the Wednesday because she doesn't want to miss a second of precious time with her family.

This was today's coffee table. Or a corner if it. I am also looking at the remaining gin baubles - still two left! Tulips arranged with care by my amazing new sister in law. A personalised picture with our song, our dogs and our wedding details on it. Two tiny books given to us by my unusual step-dad in law, he of the inappropriate mastectomy humour card, I think I blipped it. Might have been instagram. Love heart coasters bought from my gorgeous cousin Nell's shop. A four inch high pile of wedding cards, one of whom arrived in the post today from my friend Willie. I can't remember how to tag fellow blippers but she knows how important she is to me. Oh and a tick remover because it's just that time of year, and the dogs are spaniels!! A candle wrapped from my girls friend. She was last minute. We had a dumped boyfriend and she was my beautiful bridesmaids plus one!! She is an environmentalist. Her gift was wrapped in paper and cotton string. No sellotape.

The irony is my survival mechanism when I am not sleeping is to write it all down. My notebook was in my recovery hamper. With my handmade cushion so my wound was more comfortable. I came down to write dome things down in it and I can't find it anywhere! So I am typing it instead, with my precious cats on my lap, and I can feel the tension slipping away.

Thank you blip. Your community has given me a record of my journey..Maybe my memory jog for the book I have in me. Not sure which one yet. How to have a cheap but beautiful wedding? Or an eco friendly one? How to see the silver lining when it feels like everything is stacked up against you?

Radio silence from tomorrow morning. Honeymoon time. I will back blip, it's too important to me to leave gaps.

Thank you PlanW. Means the world. Always and Forever was our first dance. Heatwave. (It's Seven minutes long by the way!!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.