Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Incoming tide

Whew, a very busy day of so much talking. We had a local realtor over today ( don’t worry, nothing is to be sold anytime soon) to talk about the property and options. She was so knowledgeable and interesting, we learned a lot. Also lots of local stories. She wrote a book in 1982 about kayaking the west coast of Vancouver island so she is a real west coast adventurer. Hardly any photos were taken so I’m blipping this, from 1:52AM, of the “Andy Goldsworthy” structure we made yesterday ( see blip yesterday ) . I knew the high tide (11) was 3AM, and figured our sculpture would be gone in the am. Well I woke up about 1:30, came down and looked off the deck to see if I could see it. Too dark. So H said, try the searchlight. Hark., I could see it from the cabin, so of course I had to get coat and boots and go down to the beach. This was solid, not moving... the sea was very still. But there was over an hour to go and the water had already risen up almost a foot. I knew there would maybe been 8 more inches but was too tired to sit and wait for it. It would have been interesting to see. And I thot a small possibility it wouldn’t fall. This is the best I could do with no tripod, using the searchlight. At 7:OOam when I Looked it was all gone. But now we have an idea of when the tide covers this particular rock so can plan better next time... hopefully a more reasonable hour. This was fun tho ... I’m never up at that hour with a camera!
extras... 5:00 PM yesterday., 7:00 AM today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.