Cailleach

By Cailleach

Horns of a Dilemma....

When Doris and I had our ceramics shop, most of our purchases were made in Spain. But occasionally, something British would catch our collective eye, and we'd deviate from what we'd set out to be.

This is one of a handmade flock that we bought on the beautiful island of Tiree I can't now remember how many we had - about twenty or so. Enough for a lovely display anyway. I was sure they'd be snapped up quickly.

But for some reason, people just didn't buy them. They'd pick them up...and put them down. It seemed that going 'off Spain', wasn't going to work...

Until, one day when I was a bit bored, I decided to name them. I put a label round each neck, calling them after our Spanish friends and potters - Fernando, Pablo, Pedro, Paco...all lovely men and great artists.

They sold within about three days......

This is Carmelo. I kept him because he has a broken horn. And also because his namesake is one of the loveliest, most decent men I have ever known.

(But as far as I know, his horn is intact)
........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.