Toston Lighthouse

I took a few pictures of the Lighthouse yesterday but there were too many people around so I went back first thing this morning when it was deserted.  Just missed the beam from the lighthouse before I arrived – its still a working lighthouse.

Well it was 2 days  ago I was returning from the Yoga Retreat through the Corralejo dunes natural park – its a stunning road with golden sand dunes on either side of the road and the wind blowing sand across the road.  Cars pull in to the side all the way along to admire the scenery or go down to the sea and take part in the water sports. 
I pulled in for a short walk and then when I drove away I got stuck in the sand!   Couldn’t move forward or reverse.  Back wheels were still on solid surface but the front ones were digging into the soft sand.  Felt a total idiot.  I’ve since been told it happens at least once a day, and one local told me its once an hour – but I think that was maybe just to make me feel better.
So I’m stranded in a car that wouldn’t move.  An old fisherman tried to help but between us the only communication we had was sign language.  But then along came a car with people who offered to help, and this is the only reason I am telling the story.  These two couples were from Austria and had perfect English.  I’ve never met anyone from Austria before but they were brilliant.   The 2 guys and one of the girls and myself tried everything – pushing, lifting, digging. Using rocks and stones and finally the rubber car mats.  But nothing worked.  Took ages.   (By this time I learned that the other girl who had remained in their car was nursing the 8 month old baby).    
I couldn’t get through to the car rental company.  My Austrian pals also tried phoning – they got a bit further but couldn’t get a hold of anyone.  They then gave me a bottle of water and offered to drive me back to my villa (out of their way) so I could arrange things from there.
On the way back we had to stop as the baby wanted fed, and at that point they were able to ask me a question which had apparently been the subject of much debate over the years : –  The question:  “ In the film Braveheart is the Mel Gibson Scottish accent good or bad?”    I gave them the answer -  “bad, very bad”.    This clearly delighted one of them. 
I have no way of contacting these fabulous people but I am on the lookout for them every day now as I would like to at the very least take them for a drink.
And yes, my car was ‘rescued’ later in the day and they brought me a new one.  A lesson learned for me  -  what a numpty! .       

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.