Misty, murky, medieval

An eerie mist clung to the trees and chimney tops in the village late this afternoon. I joined my friend and Biggles for a walk through the churchyard to the field beyond. Halfway across the field we turned around to see the church had disappeared in the mist.

The air was damp and chilly and I was grateful for my scarf, hat, wool coat and gloves. The temperature feels much the same as it has done for the past few weeks...wintery! Brrrrhhhh.

Biggles made friends with a couple of spaniels, an old English sheep dog and a gently black shaggy haired dog with a padded jacket and flecks of grey hair. He had a craggy but gentle face. Dogs have such a happy carefree life, sometimes I wish I was a dog!

As we walked back through the village we talked about the age of some of the buildings which date back to the 14th and 15th century. My friend observed how the mist rolling across the fields to the old Tithe barn could be a scene from medieval times.

How lovely it is to live in a village with such history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.