NATIONAL MEMORIAL ARBORETUM.

This is a back blip from yesterday because I didn’t return home until late. I’d been on a coach trip to the National memorial Arboretum. There are 330 memorials to explore throughout the 150 acres. It was foggy when we started off and it rained all the way towards Birmingham but it stopped raining when we arrived, I managed to take 100 photos. My main blip is the Embodiment of loss and sacrifice. Created by Rank-Broadey best known for his image of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth 11 which has appeared on all UK coinage. (3) I've put A memorial to the World War One Christmas Truce, when some British and German soldiers stopped fighting and played football the sculptor is of a hand shake the round metal is the ball.(4) The Shot at Dawn memorial this statue is of Private Herbert Burden of the 1st Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers, who was shot at Ypres in 1915 aged just 17. Today it is recognised that several of them were underage when they volunteered and many were suffering from post traumatic stress disorder. (5) I just had to put the Dunkirk memorial on because my Dad was here. The custom of using a rifle topped with a helmet has become known as the Battlefield Cross of fallen soldier’s. The memorial is a tribute to all who took part in the operation, code-named "Dynamo", to evacuate the allied armies from the Dunkirk and neighbouring beaches between 26 May and 4 June, 1940. During the operation, 338000 troops were evacuated to safety by Royal Navy and Merchant Navy ships. I enjoyed the day and the info.I'll return in the summer when the leaves are on the trees and its warmer. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.