The Belle is Back

There are so many things I miss about having Michele close by.

The beautiful Thanksgiving dinners we shared every year. Michele takes Southern hospitality to a new level.

Our early morning, post school drop off, pre-dog walk coffee catch ups.

Obscure references to 80s American sit coms.

A person to bitch to about your husband and kids without ever feeling guilty or disloyal to them.

Mostly though I miss the the safety net. The knowledge that there was someone there who always had my back. Who would drop everything if I was stuck across town and couldn't make it back to pick up the kids. The person who sorted our medication when Bee and I were deathly ill with swine flu and the Moose was across the ocean She brought soup as well. The friend who would be just as excited as your own mother when your child excelled in something or another. She is a good egg this one.

Michele is here without the kids and her Mother in law is out of town. Her lovely husband had the decency to take my boy, his godson off our hands so we could just be girly all day. We mostly curled up and chatted and laughed and caught up on all the dirt. If my sweet husband wasn't currently flying into a hurricane I'd say it was a rather perfect day.

Thank you for all the hearts yesterday. That was most unexpected

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.