A place in time

By Verbosa

Looking up

This afternoon I took a toddle around Godalming, in an attempt to clear my headache.  The town is full of plenty of little alleyways and a great many old buildings, but as I walked back down the High Street I looked UP at this building.  The little round plaque declares that the building dates from 1663!  Looking it up on good ol' Google, it tells me this.


The two extras show other views I liked, so perhaps another time I can look up the history of them too.

Mind you, I haven't been to Godalming for some time and I was rather surprised (and saddened) to see that there were quite a number of empty premises.  It had always looked to be a bustling little town, but is starting to appear somewhat unloved.  Don't get me wrong, there is still lots to see there to warrant a visit, but it is always a shame to see empty shops, isn't it?

Thought for the day:

"Friday the 13th is still better than Monday the whatever."  (Birthdaywishes.expert)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.