OMP

By OMP

Holy Guacamole!

I finally spotted a Snowy Owl!

They have been wintering in Michigan some years lately, though not every year.   I spotted a male last winter, but didn't have my camera on me.  This year, I have been trying in vain to find one before their migration back to the Arctic.  It's quite a 'feather in your cap' to spot one around here and pretty awesome to get a shot of one.  I have been traveling to an area with some reported sightings over and over again this year without any success.  Tonight, I saw a "rare bird" sighting alert on ebirds and decided to give it one more try.  (Considering the time of year, my chances were dwindling down to zero pretty quickly.)  So, despite the cold-blowing-raining-snowing-dark evening, I got in the car and drove 30+ miles to cruise the area.  My expectations were pretty low.

Then I spotted a small lump on the roof of a industrial building in the distance.  I wasn't even sure if it was a bird or if it was part of the building.  But I got out and sloshed my way across a field to get a closer look, camera in hand.  (I got so excited, I left my hat, gloves and tripod in the car.) 
:(

Identification was confirmed... A female (or juvenile) snowy owl!  :)))  With the rain and wind picking up I decide to go back for my other gear.  It took 45 minutes of standing ankle deep in water, while it poured, for her to get interested in anything and make the move you see above (flight shot in extras).  Unfortunately I had to use a really high ISO and the images were still dark.  But I'm just happy to have the photos, and now that I'm warm and dry (and can feel my fingers), I'm happy for the experience. :)))  And I'm super happy she decided to fly when she did... it hailed just minutes after I got back to my car! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.