aging hippy

By aginghippy

Lord Ganesha

Lord Ganesha is one of my favorite Hindu deities. He is half man and half elephant and the story behind how he bacame like this is very interesting and very sad and has a wonderful moral to it. He is the Lord of Success but also the Lord of Vanity and Pride.
The blip I took today is from a 2 inch silver carving, probably carved in Chennai during the late 18th century.
The background to the photograph is an Indian leather bound note book and the 'paper' is made from cotton. That's what the marks and blemishes are on the pages ..... not dust on my lens :-))))
I hope you enjoy this photograph as much and I did taking it and, if you are interested please look up the story behind The Elephant Lord on the Internet.

douglas

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.