FroebelandMe

By FroebelandMe

Influences

'In answering the question What is the purpose of education? I started at that time from the observation that man lives in a world of objects which influence him and which he wishes to influence, and so he must know these objects in their characteristics, their essence and their relation to one another and to mankind.' Friedrich Froebel

During Froebel's era there were also outside influences that played a part in shaping his theories. There was first the American War of Independence which introduced a democratic way of thinking. There was also the French Revolution which highlighted citizenship, liberty, and equality.

Due to the political unrest in France at this time, Germany (which was then a group of states) felt vulnerable. This led to discussion about Germany becoming united to be a stronger force against the French. This theme of unity is evident in Froebel's theories and practices. He came to the idea that everything was connected, one unified whole. He identified the sphere as a symbol of unity. This became the shape of Froebel's first gift.

When I reflect on my own educational theories it is hard to pinpoint the significant historical events that may have shaped my beliefs in education today. There is the, of course, the significant change in Scottish Curriculum from 5-14 to 'A Curriculum for Excellence', along with the impact of 'Assessment is for Learning' techniques.

However, it is clear to me that the biggest influence on my educational practice, is technology. You do not need to look back far to see just how much technology has developed, changed and shaped the world in which we live. We are in a technology revolution. I have no doubt in my mind of the progressive role technology will continue to play in education, and yet, looking to the future it makes me question all that I know. Social media, Internet bullying, Skype, typing skills, web design, email, online banking, voice recognition etc...Are these the skills that we need to equip the children of today with? Or will the days of the pencil and paper never die?

I hope not, but change is inevitable and I'd be naive to think otherwise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.