Lantern Parade

Liverpool's Lantern Parade around Sefton Park is always the Sunday before Halloween, but isn't a Halloween festival.That's fine by me, but when the Anglican Cathedral is hosting The Night of the Living Dead on All Hallows Eve, then I wonder who gets the moral high ground in terms of political correctness. Or whatever. I don't really care.

The Lantern Parade, as I have said before is a Very Good Thing. Every penny spent on it is well spent. This year, there were 2 parades, one early, one later, I guess to deal with the increasing numbers of people who can tell a Very Good Thing when they see one.

So, a great night out. Magical performances from the street actors at Hope Street Limited. This is what Liverpool excels at doing well and its people come out in their thousands to support it.

Apparently, during WWII, Churchill was asked to sanction massive cuts in the Arts budget to fund the war effort. He replied: "Then what are we fighting for?". It's not true and never happened. It's a myth that keeps cropping up from time to time. It's a pity because I would love it to be a true story.

But I can make it so in my head. Events like this need to happen. For if they don't happen, then, what is the sodding point?

Oh, if you've got this far, then have some tech stuff. Well, not tech at all. I couldn't persuade my flash to sync with my camera. Not in a sort of sulky teenage kind of way, but in a very determined "Switch me on and I'll prevent the shutter from firing kind of way" So, flash in the bag, high ISO, aperture wide open and hope for some light from elsewhere. And live with the noise and blur. There - that's the tech. Worked out in the pub later on what the issue was. There's always next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.